Hello fellow bloggers, and blog-readers. Forgive me for my blogging inexperience, but one must start somewhere, right?

I’ve spent a lot of time (like off and on for the last 4 years!) trying to figure out what to write about. Motherhood? Mental health issues? Moving around like a gypsy? Well, I’ve always been pretty scattered, so I will probably incorporate these, and a dozen other topics, into my BIG focus right now: researching, buying, and renovating a camper.

So I suppose I should start by telling you all a little about myself and my family. I’m a single mom, of one AMAZING little boy. His name is Walker, but from now on, he will be referred to as Ker-1. Why the weird nickname that doesn’t make any sense? Well, my lovely sister had a baby a couple of years ago, who’s name is VERY similar sounding to my child. We have dubbed them the Ker Kids/Ker Children. (Ker-1 also holds the nickname Monster Mash.) I work full time retail management and I LOVE the store and my coworkers. This July will mark 8 years with the company! I’ve been in a pretty unstable living situation for the last 7 or 8 years, and have moved 9 times in less than 6 years!!

Tragedy seems to breed opportunity, however. My mom passed away in 2015….the Big C. After her passing, my dad and I discussed buying me a camper trailer. After extensive research (which I will discuss later), we nixed that idea. We ended up buying me an updated 1973 mobile home (now I guess they’re called a Manufactured Home) instead of a camper, last October.

Another tragedy struck the end of October 2017, just one or two weeks before closing on the trailer. My father was diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer. (sidenote: CANCER SUCKS!). We’ve spent the last 6 months making what good memories we could, and treasuring every minute. My house has become less and less settled over those 6 months, trying to juggle spending quality time with my dad, work, raising a child and 2 cats. Second sidenote: my dad’s girlfiend is a freaking ANGEL. She’s been such a rock and has taken care of him 100% through to the end, and is equally excited about this RV project as I am!!

Stay tuned next time for tips on camper research, and how I chose the right camper for my family (which truthfully is, as of this post, still a work in progress….I know what I WANT, but have not acquired it as of yet)